FanPost

Was Cavendish Robbed of the Green jersey?




Cavendish wins last two sprint Tour stages

Cavendish, Farrar, and Hushovd all had a great Tour, but Hushovd came away with the Green jersey

because of  a call during stage  14. Cavendish won 6 stages at this years Tour.

It was ruled that Cavendish tried to impede Hushovd by pushing him into the fence, so Cavendish's

points on stage 14 were docked which gave Hushovd the Green jersey.

What really may have happened was that Cavendish slowed down a little on stage 14, so that Hincapie

would have the right time gap to take yellow.

Juliet Macur said in the NY Times that: "During the race, Cavendish tried to slow down the sprint to give Hincapie

more of a time gap. After the stage, officials said he had impeded Thor Hushovd of Norway as they raced toward the

finish line."

Robbie McEwen has also said that Cavendish did not impede the race.

Obviously, the officials ruled in favor of Hushovd, but the question still remains as to whether it was the right

call, or was Cavendish robbed.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Podium Cafe

You must be a member of Podium Cafe to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Podium Cafe. You should read them.

Join Podium Cafe

You must be a member of Podium Cafe to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Podium Cafe. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.