Sardenga & Ruta del Sol results (for you last minute VDS slackers)

Sardegna: Peter Sagan won the sprint into Porto Cervo over Allesandro Ballan with teammate Daniel Oss rounding out the podium on the 138km first stage

1 Peter Sagan (Liquigas Cannondale)
2 Alessandro Ballan (BMC Racing)
3 Daniel Oss (Liquigas Cannondale)
4 Daniele Pietropolli (Lampre Isd)
5 Oscar Gatto (Farnese VIni Neri Sottoli)
6 Angel Vicioso (Androni Giocattoli)
7 Elia Favilli (Farnese Vini Neri Sottoli)

Ruta del Sol: For people who haven't been following the results, Jimmy Engoulvent won the prologue hundredths of seconds of Markel Irizar with Jurgen Van den Broeck. Saur-Sojasun put 3 riders in the top 6 with Jerome Coppel and neo-prof Paul Poux

1 Jimmy Engoulvent (Fra) Saur - Sojasun 0:09:28
2 Markel Irizar Aramburu (Esp) Team Radioshack
3 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 0:00:01
4 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Team Radioshack 0:00:02
5 Jerome Coppel (Fra) Saur - Sojasun 0:00:03
6 Paul Poux (Fra) Saur - Sojasun 0:00:07
7 Luis Pasamontes (Esp) Movistar Team 0:00:08
8 Thomas Lövkvist (Swe) Sky Procycling
9 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Sky Procycling 0:00:09
10 Ivan Rovny (Rus) Team Radioshack 0:00:10

Stage 1: Engoulvent was dropped, Irizar went into the leader's jersey....Jon Hivert kept it going for Saur and won the selective bunch sprint over Fran Ventoso, "El Gato" Freire and Stijn Devolder (He Lives!)

1 Jonathan Hivert (Fra) Saur - Sojasun 4:20:25
2 Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Esp) Movistar Team
3 Oscar Freire Gomez (Esp) Rabobank Cycling Team
4 Stijn Devolder (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
5 Serguei Ivanov (Rus) Katusha Team
6 Luis Pasamontes Rodriguez (Esp) Movistar Team
7 Juan Jose Cobo Acebo (Esp) Geox-TMC
8 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
9 Jose Alberto Benitez Roman (Esp) Andalucia Caja Granada
10 Christian Knees (GER) Sky Procycling

Stage 2 is currently on going so I'll post some results once that gets done. 4 categorized climbs and the finish is on a pretty good climb so it should be another selective sprint.

EDIT: Ventoso sprints for the win on stage 2

1. Francisco Ventoso (Movistar Team)
2. Juan José Lobato (Andalucía-Caja Granada) m.t.
3. Davide Appollonio (Sky) m.t.
4. Giacomo Nizzolo (Leopard-Trek) m.t.
5. Thierry Hupond (Skil-Shimano) m.t.
6. Pello Bilbao (Orbea) m.t.
7. Samuel Sánchez (Euskaltel-Euskadi) m.t.
8. Ricardo García (Orbea) m.t.
9. Luis Pasamontes (Movistar Team) m.t.
10. Yukihiro Doi (Skil-Shimano) m.t.


Both Lobato and Nizzolo are neo-pro's and have had some good results in the new year...1 pointers who could surprise. Also, Pasamontes is a very consistent finisher...6th, 7th and 9th on the first 3 days.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Podium Cafe

You must be a member of Podium Cafe to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Podium Cafe. You should read them.

Join Podium Cafe

You must be a member of Podium Cafe to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Podium Cafe. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.