Gerrans wins Liège-Bastogne-Liège

Bryn Lennon - Velo/Getty Images

After a race that was waiting, waiting, waiting, Simon Gerrans of Orica-Greenedge won his second Monument in Ans in what was ultimately a thrilling final 10 kilometres. Alejandro Valverde and Michal Kwiatkowski joined him on the podium.

It was an unusually large peloton that approached the finale in Ans/Liège after a race of very few decisive attacks. The race opened up a little on the Cote de La Roche aux Faucons as the little climbers like Arredondo and Pozzovivo tried their luck but there was swift regrouping and roughly 40 riders who approached the last climb in Saint Nicolas. Pozzovivo had another go on this last obstacle, this time with Giampaolo Caruso and the two built a decent gap as there was some disagreement in the chase behind.

Ultimately the duo was doomed as Dan Martin made the confusion moot by launching a forceful counterattack on the same bit of uphill where he closed down and beat Rodriguez last year. This forced the others to throw tactics to the wind and go all in to follow. Martin didn't look quite as convincing this time and had to dig deep to make the catch. As he and Caruso went into the last ninety degree turn Martin's rear wheel slipped out as he was accelerating around the Katusha rider, ending his day in disaster. Behind Valverde led the big favorites sprint to come round Caruso but in a reversal of numerous previous duels between the two it was Orica's Simon Gerrans that had the edge in the sprint, winning the race by a bikelength or two.

After many years of unsuccessful attempts Gerrans finally won an Ardennes classic and it was in large part due to tremendous support work by Orica in the finale. He was led into the Saint Nicolas climb right at the front and in the final chase Pieter Weening did yeoman's work to sew the race together for the Orica captain. In an odd but ultimately thrilling Liège-Bastogne-Liège it was strong teamwork that made the difference.

TOP 20

1. AUS OGE Simon Gerrans
2. ESP MOV Alejandro Valverde
3. POL OPQ Michal Kwiatkowski
4. ITA KAT Giampaolo Caruso
5. ITA ALM Domenico Pozzovivo
6. NED GRS Tom Jelte Slagter
7. CZE TCS Roman Kreuziger
8. BEL BMC Philippe Gilbert
9. ESP KAT Daniel Moreno
10. FRA ALM Romain Bardet
11. BEL LTB Jelle Vanendert
12. ITA AST Enrico Gasparotto
13. ITA LAM Damiano Cunego
14. FRA EUC Cyril Gautier
15. NED BEL Bauke Mollema
16. FRA COF Rudy Molard
17. POR TNE Tiago Machado
18. FRA FDJ Anthony Roux
19. LUX TFR Fränk Schleck
20. AUT IAM Stefan Denifl

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Podium Cafe

You must be a member of Podium Cafe to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Podium Cafe. You should read them.

Join Podium Cafe

You must be a member of Podium Cafe to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Podium Cafe. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.