clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

La Maglia Bianca

Who's the Giro's Ragazzo Molto Bellissimo?

The key to this competition is January 1, 1982... and some cycling talent. As mentioned elsewhere, this classification is returning to the Giro (instead of the mysterious Intergiro) for the first time since 1994, when RCS got tired of awarding it to Russians and scrapped the white jersey. So there is no real methodology to choosing a winner, unless you want to look at the Tour, where Damiano Cunego and Markus Fothen duked it out to the line last year. Cunego and Fothen both missed this year's Ragazzo cutoff by about three months, but among the all-round studs who still make the age limit are Ricardo Ricco, Matteo Bono, Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil, Mikhail Ignatiev, Andy Schleck, Nicholas Roche, and my fave Vincenzo Nibali.