clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Giro d'Italia Stage 20: Post-Stage Thread

Giro-poststage-2_mediumNot as much action today, possibly because the bad weather and hard riding has finally maxed out the peloton. Or because Liquigas made it clear they weren't going to tolerate any nonsense today. Anyway, amidst the Gibo farewell activities and the loss of video, Johan Tschopp attacked at the Cima Coppi, stealing Gibo's thunder, and managed to stay out front all the way to the line. Cadel Evans attacked with his last bit of energy to steal back a few seconds, presumably not enough to make any moves on GC though.

  1. Johan Tschopp, Bbox
  2. Cadel Evans, BMC, at 0.15
  3. Ivan Basso, Liquigas, at 0.22
  4. Michele Scarponi, Androni, s.t.
  5. David Arroyo, Caisse d'Epargne, at 0.28

Basso wins the Giro d'Italia, barring a debilitating crash in tomorrow's short 15km time trial.

Image of the day: