clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Race Alert! 4 Jours de Dunkerque, May 5-9

New, 56 comments

4_jours_poster_smaller_medium
France, I am told, is a very odd place in some respects. If someone wishes to change their name, governmental approval and a hefty fee are required. A name is a name is a name—which might go some way to explaining why the Quatre Jours de Dunkerque retains its original title despite currently being held over cinq jours. And that’s after budget cuts reduced it this year from its more usual six days.

The official site promises that its five stages will feature lots of hills and some windy coastal riding, plus a stage held entirely within Belgium, from Menin to Ypres. No time trial this year, though, and unfortunately it appears that only the Belgian stage (Stage 3, on Friday) will be available live for our viewing pleasure. If it's up against the Giro Team Presentation, good luck.

BVLS has the live stage scheduled for Friday at 15:30 CEST/11:30 pm AEST/9:30 am EDT/6:30 am PDT, with highlights Stages 1 & 2 shown half an hour earlier.

Highlights of Stages 4 & 5 will be shown on Sunday, May 9 at 13:30 and 17:15 CEST--it isn't clear whether those are the same highlights shown twice or whether they each show a different stage. (Conversion: 13:30 CEST = 9:30 pm AEST, 7:30 am EDT, 4:30 am PDT; 17:15 CEST = 1:15 am (Monday) AEST,11:15 am EDT, 8:15 am PDT)

Start list here.

UPDATE: andrewp reports that France 3 will have live video on Saturday and Sunday. Geo-restriction unknown, but perhaps our friends at BVLS and/or MyP2P will be on top of it.