clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Happy New Year! GVA Baal - GP Sven Nys.................. LIVE!!!

Saturday 1st January, 15:00 CET, 14:00 GMT, 09:00 USA Eastern

Are you feeling the worse for wear after celebrating the end of 2010?  Or feeling bright & breezy, ready for an exciting 2011?  Either way, start the new year the best way - with 'Cross!

Yeah, yeah, I hear you. "What? Has gs gone bonkers? Surely they can't race on New Year's day!" What you forget though, dear friends, is this: it's cyclo-cross. Of course they race on New Year's day! The Grand Prix Sven Nys - yes, he has his own race - is an anual tradition. There is only one way to properly start the year and that's to watch other people exert themselves. If you don't agree, you're not a cross fan.

It shouldn't come as a big surprise that the GP Sven Nys is a race at which Sven Nys is pretty good. There have been eleven editions, and he's won nine of them. Maybe because he goes to bed at 10pm on 31 December. Or maybe because the race has bunnyhop beams, technical descents and corners where you need a good eye (two good eyes is even better).

GS gave us a lot there, but want more information?  There's stats, maps, links and all the usual goodies below - and as much chat as New Year Café habitués can manage....

Here's the parcours:



GP Sven Nys is the 6th of 8 GVA Trofee rounds, and here are the current standings:

1 (1) Kevin Pauwels Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 106
2 (2) Sven Nys Landbouwkrediet 102
3 (3) Zdenek Stybar Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 89
4 (4) Bart Wellens Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 81
5 (7) Niels Albert BKCP-Powerplus 80
6 (5) Klaas Vantornout Sunweb Revor 76
7 (6) Bart Aernouts Rabo - Giant Offroad Team. 71
8 (8) Gerben De Knegt Rabo - Giant Offroad Team. 49
9 (11) Tom Meeusen Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 48
10 (10) Enrico Franzoi BKCP-Powerplus 47


Look how close it is between Nys and Pauwels!  There's points for the first 20 across the line: 25-22-19-17-16-15-14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2 and 1 - so unless Nys has another shocking mechanical, and Pauwels rides into another tree, the GVA is between those two....  But the glory of the race?  Who wouldn't want to beat Sven Nys at his own race?  Only 2 other riders have won here - Mario de Clercq in 2002, and in 2006 a certain Mr Lars Boom....  

The startlist includes everyone you want to see - well, except Ian Field, but Field-fans can make up for it with a great interview published yesterday

There's a livestream, but it could be geo-restricted - but as always, ProcyclingBVLS and Cycling Fans are here to help!  And while you're waiting, you can watch last year's last lap.  Happy New Year!