clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sunday, 2 January: Fidea Cyclocross Tervuren

Sunday, 2 January: Fidea Cyclocross Tervuren

Hey, they ride on 1 January, so why not the day after? There's no list of participants yet, but the organisers promise us that the best of the world will be there. Well, at least the Fidea boys will I imagine. Tervuren forest is a nice place to race. There's little to distinguish this race from the others, though I gotta say I love a sport where they think spraypainting tree roots and sharp rocks pink is enough to make things safe. I like forest races too, as it always means there's some up and down bits.

De Tervuren cross is a standalone one (sorta), but it's famous enough to get the big guns at the start line. Also, it's aired live on, so you won't have any trouble finding a stream. With a week to go before the national championships, you'll find riders with differing strategies: so will like to ride hard as a final test, so will treat today like a glorified training ride. We'll see who does what.

You can find a pdf of the parcours here, and the .doc tech guide here; and in case you don't speak Dutch, this is what it says -

Parcours length: 2580m consisting of:

- 205m of asphalt (+200m run in at the start)
- 625m of forest roads
- 485m of grass
- 1105m of dirt roads
- 160m of pits (2x 80m)

Total height difference: +/- 15m
Total amount of climbing per lap:
+/- 50m

There are two very technical sections after the beams leading up to the pits.





1 Zdenek Stybar
2 Sven Nys
3 Niels Albert
4 Kevin Pauwels
5 Bart Aernouts
6 Bart Wellens
7 Klaas Vantornout
8 Gerben De Knegt
9 Tom Meeusen
10 Dieter Vanthourenhout
11 Radomir Simunek
12 Philipp Walsleben
13 Rob Peeters
14 Vincent Baestaens
15 Enrico Franzoi
16 Thijs Van Amerongen
17 Eddy Van Ijzendoorn
18 Jonathan Page
19 Egoitz Murgoitio Rekalde
20 Sven Vanthourenhout
21 Marco Bianco
22 Wietse Bosmans
23 Joeri Adams
24 Jim Aernouts
25 Thijs Al
26 Brian Matter
27 Robert Gavenda
28 Tom Van den Bosch
29 Mark Lalonde
30 Daniel Ruiz
31 Bart Verschueren
32 Matteo Trentin
33 Arnaud Jouffroy
34 Sean Babcock
35 Ben Berden
36 Steven De Decker
37 Yu Takenouchi
38 Kevin Cant
39 Kenneth Van Compernolle
40 Ryan Iddings
41 Xabier Garcia Irazola
42 Sean De Bie
43 Tim Vannuffel
44 Mitchell Hoke
45 Quentin Bertholet
46 Jempy Drucker
47 Jan Verstraeten
48 Tom Vannoppen
49 Mike Thielemans
50 Jo Pirotte
51 Geert Wellens
52 Patrick Gaudy
53 Sven Van Eyndt
54 Ramon Sinkeldam
55 Bart Barkhuis
56 Loris Tursi
57 David Andrew Quist
58 Bram Schmitz
59 Daan Bongers


1 Marianne Vos
2 Sanne Van Paassen
3 Daphny Van den Brand
4 Helen Wyman
5 Pavla Havlikova
6 Sanne Cant
7 Hanka Kupfernagel
8 Sophie De Boer
9 Linda Van Rijen
10 Nikki Harris
11 Arenda Grimberg
12 Sabrina Stultiens
13 Maureen Bruno Roy
14 Amy Dombroski
15 Ellen Van Loy
16 Reza Hormes Ravenstijn
17 Gabriella Day
18 Nancy Bober
19 Joyce Vanderbeken
20 Martina Zwick
21 Gertie Willems
22 Nicolle De Bie-Leijten
23 Tessa Van Nieuwpoort
24 Christine Vardaros
25 Ayako Toyooka
26 Nathalie Nijns
27 Vicki Thomas
28 Katrien Thijs
29 Lana Verberne
30 Anja Nobus
31 Iris Ockeloen
32 Lisa Bogaert
33 Ilse Vandekinderen
34 Lucy Cash
35 Maaike Lanssens