clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gilbert conquers the Cauberg again

In a brilliantly timed sprint, Phillippe Gilbert pulls off the least surprising win of the year so far. Following up on the strong work of Omega Pharma Lotto to keep the attacking Andy Schleck within striking distance, Gilbert countered Joaquin Rodriguez as he opened the sprint on the Cauberg. Once Gilbert accelerated the result was never in question and he won comfortably by a few bikelengths, taking time to celebrate as he crossed the line. Sky's Simon Gerrans signalled a return to old Ardennes-form by sprinting into third place. 

TOP 10
1. Philippe Gilbert
2. Joaquim Rodriguez 
3. Simon Gerrans 
4. Jakob Fuglsang 
5. Aleksandr Kolobnev 
6. Oscar Freire 
7. Björn Leukemans
8. Ben Hermans
9. Robert Gesink 
10. Paul Martens