clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Podium Cafe Awards: Jolly Good Show!

Congratulations to our 2012 award winners, several of whom live in Britain.

Bryn Lennon

Women's Rider of the Year: Marianne Vos, Rabobank (77%)

Men's Rider of the Year: Bradley Wiggins, Sky (51%)

Team of the Year: Sky Pro Cycling (%)

Race Day of the Year: Giro d'Italia Stage 20 (21%)

Surprise of the Year: Ryder Hesjedal wins Giro d'Italia (51%)

Most Improved Rider: Peter Sagan, Liquigas (26%)

You can look up most of the results, but I do want to highlight the best contest, the Race Day of the Year. It was a three-way contest to the bitter end, with the Giro d'Italia stage to the Stelvio Pass edging the Women's Olympic Road Race by two votes, with Stage 17 of the Vuelta, Contador's surprise attack, a mere three votes further back. The men's rider of the year wasn't the monster battle it was billed to be, with Wiggins taking an actual majority, easily gapping Joaquim Rodriguez (15%), Sagan (14%) and Tom Boonen (12%).

... and that's a wrap! On to 2013...