clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dwars Door Vlaanderen: Terpstra, OPQS Slam the Door


Omega Pharma-Quick Step's Niki Terpstra rode a dominating race to victory in today's Dwars door Vlaanderen semi-classic, dropping his breakaway teammates on the Oude Kwaremont and holding off an 11-rider chase with relative ease for the solo win. Terpstra's team held all the cards in this race, with Sylvain Chavanel in the early break with him, and dogging each of the chasing efforts with his frightening presence looming at their back.

Sep Vanmarcke of Garmin-Barracuda tried to change the outcome with an attack off the peloton on the Paterberg, resulting in an elite chase group with Filippo Pozzato (Farnese Vini) and Jens Keukeleire (GreenEdge) in tow, an effort that joined the remnants of the original escape. But they got nothing organized and Terpstra's 1.20-ish gap held almost all the way to the line. To underline the dilemma their rivals faced, Chavanel eventually escaped the chase and took second in a sprint with Koen de Kort (1T4I), even raising his arms in celebration, presumably for the whole squad. Great day for Belgium's SuperTeam, and for the Dutch rider who secured his biggest victory ever. Results:

  1. Niki Terpstra, Omega Pharma Quick Step
  2. Sylvain Chavanel, Omega Pharma, at 0.57
  3. Koen de Kort, 1T4I, s.t.
  4. Jan Ghyselinck, s.t.
  5. Alexandre Pichot, Europcar
  6. Filippo Pozzato, Farnese Vini
  7. Sep Vanmarcke, Garmin-Barracuda
  8. Martin Wynants, Rabobank
  9. Lloyd Mondory, AG2R
  10. Jens Keukeleire, GreenEdge

Highlight of the Day: