clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cliff-Ryan Wins Exergy Tour Stage 1

Stage 1 of the 2012 Exergy Women's Tour saw a change of leadership, a crash and Exergy Twenty 12 rider Theresa Cliff-Ryan sprint to glory over Ina Yoko-Tuetenberg of Specialized Lululemon, and Rochelle Gilmore (Faren Honda). Teutenberg claimed a time bonus from an intermediate sprint. This bonus placed her in the overall race leaders jersey. A crash in the closing kilometers put Georgia Bronzini on the pavement and out of the race. She was attended by the race doctor from local sponsor St Luke's , and transported from the scene. Kristin Armstrong (Exergy Twenty 12) fresh out of surgery to repair yesterdays broken collar bone, made a finish area appearance to witness Cliff-Ryan's stage win.

Kristin Armstrong shares the wining moment with her Exergy Twenty 12 teammates.

Now and Novartis rider Beth Newell tried her hand at an early solo break, which was brought home by Andrea Dvorak (Exergy) and Evie Steven (Specialized lululemon) at the first QOM. Stevens took the QOM points. In the rolling farmland behind the climb, Exergy placed Taylor Wiles in a break with Robin Farina (Now and Novartis) and Trixi Worrack (Specialized lululemon) and 5 other riders. The break survived the second trip around to the QOM, at which point Hughes, Rowney and Stevens of Specialized slammed the door and allowed Stevens her second set of QOM points. Stevens wears the Queen Of The Mountains Jersey.

Dvorak and Stevens Chasing on the Pump Road QOM

Wiles (Exergy Twenty 12) and company on their escape from the peloton

Hughes, Whitten and Stevens work to shut down the mid race break

A tail wind on the run into the finish in Nampa, allowed the field to come together. The crash that took Bronzini out of the race occurred as the riders fought to set up for a field sprint. The dash for the line saw Cliff-Ryan take Teutenberg by a half wheel, with Gilmore and Canadian speedster Leah Kirchman (Optum KBS) round out the top four. Leaders jerseys now rest on the shoulders of Teutenberg, Race Leader and Sprints, Stevens QOM, and Gillian Carleton continues as the Best Young Rider. For her early solo move Beth Newell was named Most Aggressive.

The growing full race gallery.

As always these images are copyright protected and my not be reused or rebroadcasst with out consent of the owner.