clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA Cycling names roster for #CXWorlds

Powers, Page, Compton, McDonald and Owen will contest the podium for the USA at CX Worlds

Katie Compton will lead the women's USA squad at Cyclo-cross Worlds
Katie Compton will lead the women's USA squad at Cyclo-cross Worlds
Photo by Patrick Verhoest

USA Cycling today announced the 22 elite, U23 and junior riders that will represent the United States at the 2013 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships coming up on February 2 and 3 in Louisville, Kentucky.

Elite Women:

Nine-time US National Cyclocross Champion Katie Compton (Trek) is favored to give Marianne Vos a run for her money as she defends her World title. Compton has already won four rounds of the World Cup this season and collected silver medals in three of the rounds.

Joining Compton will be Kaitlin Antonneau (Cyclocrossworld-Cannondale), who, like Compton, earned an automatic nomination to the women’s squad by her World Cup achievements; Georgia Gould (LUNA Pro Team), Meredith Miller (California Giant Berry Farms), Amy Dombroski (Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team), and Jade Wilcoxson (Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies).

Gould was fourth at nationals this past weekend and also had the second most accumulated UCI rankings points from the nine U.S. UCI selection races. Miller finished eighth at nationals and 11th in the fifth round of the World Cup. Dombroski was 11th at the third and fourth World Cups and 14th at the fifth round. Wilcoxson earned the silver medal at the national championships.

Elite Men:

Jeremy Powers (Team Rapha-FOCUS) automatically qualified for the team as the top-ranked U.S. rider in the UCI rankings but it was Jonathan Page (ENGVT) who won the elite men’s national title this weekend, also earning him an automatic invite to Worlds.

Ryan Trebon (Cannondale-Clement) and Tim Johnson (Cannondale p/b, ranked second- and third in the UCI’s elite men’s rankings, also got automatic tickets to Louisville.

And the two discretionary picks are James Driscoll (Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) and Daniel Summerhill (UnitedHealthcare). Driscoll and Summerhill were third and fourth respectively at Cyclo-cross Nationals this weekend.

U23 Men:

Zach McDonald (Team Rapha-FOCUS) will be leading the U23 squad, and joining him will be Andrew Dillman (Bob’s Red Mill Cyclocross), Tobin Ortenblad (California Giant Berry Farms-Specialized), Skyler Trujillo (Boo-Enve), and Joshua Johnson (Indianapolis Cycling Club).


The junior men will be led by Logan Owen (Teanm Redline), who is sure to be contender for the podium. Owen is ranked second in the UCI junior men’s World Cup standings, and took home his eighth consecutive national title this weekend.

Joining Owen will be Curtis White (Hot Tubes Development Cycling Team), the silver medalist from the weekend’s national championship, Maxx Chance (Clif Bar Development Cross Team), David Lombardo (Verdigris-Village CX Team/Village-Verdigris Cycling), and Stephen Bassett (Bob’s Red Mill Cyclocross Team).