clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cancellara wins E3 Harelbeke for the third time

Once again the spectacular strength of Fabian Cancellara was on display as he powered away from a group of the other favorites on the Kwaremont and soloed home to win. Pre race favorite Peter Sagan sprinted to second over surprise Daniel Oss

Cancellara now once again looks like the big favorite for the monuments ahead as his top opponent Tom Boonen faltered as Cancellara attacked and also slipped out of the chase group. With 35 km to go Cancellara had all but decided the race as the chase group tried and worked well but did not have the power to close the gap to the strongest rider on the day.

FULL TOP 10 (with FSA DS points):

1. SUI RLT Fabian Cancellara 250
2. SVK CAN Peter Sagan 200
3. ITA BMC Daniel Oss 180
4. GBR SKY Geraint Thomas 160
5. NED OGE Sebastian Langeveld 140
6. FRA OPQ Sylvain Chavanel 120
7. BEL OPQ Tom Boonen 100
8. ITA KAT Luca Paolini 90
9. NOR SKY Edvald Boasson Hagen 80
10. FRA EUC Sebastien Turgot 70