clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Amstel Gold Results: Kreuziger Stays Away

Early aggression by Blanco, Saxo-Tinkoff, and ORICA-GreenEDGE put a breakaway group up the road in the final 35 kilometers, breaking up the racing in Amstel Gold earlier than in the past several years. Roman Kreuziger jumped out of the breakaway in the final kilometers and held enough of an advantage climbing the


The early breakaway began to languish and splinter inside the final 40 kilometers as Pieter Weening initiated the hostilities in the main field in a solo move that eventually drew seven riders out of the field, including Kreuziger. With seven kilometers to go, Kreuziger countered an attack by Lars Peter Nordhaug with 7 kilometers to go on the flat and downhill roads into Valkenburg and immediately got a sizable gap. Behind, the group dithered in the chase and was re-absorbed by the peloton at the base of the Cauberg.

Kreuziger's gap was still 15 seconds at the base of the climb and he retained most of that advantage in the final three kilometers, crossing the line with room to spare. Behind, Philippe Gilbert ignited the group on the final climb of the Cauberg, hoping for a repeat of his attack to win the world championships in September that was not to come. Simon Gerrans and Alejandro Valverde proved tough to shake and though Gilbert had a slight gap over the top, it was too small and the chase was too far behind Kreuziger. Gilbert opened up the sprint for second as the remainder of the peloton caught up to the group of three and was passed by Valverde and Gerrans as the chasing group swarmed around the three riders.

  1. Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Team Saxo - Tinkoff
  2. Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team
  3. Simon Gerrans (Aus) ORICA-GreenEDGE
  4. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) OmegaPharma-QuickStep
  5. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team
  6. Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky
  7. Björn Leukemans (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
  8. Peter Weening (Ned) Orica-GreenEDGE
  9. Enrico Gasporatto (Ita) Astana Cycling Team
  10. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Team Blanco