clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

USA Pro Challenge Stage 4: Dennis Seizes Control

New, 173 comments
Threadjack, as promied!

BMC's Rohan Dennis helped himself to the overall lead of the USA Pro Challenge by taking the jersey off his BMC teammate Brent Bookwalter's back, attacking over the small final climb on the outskirts of Breckenridge to ride back into town alone, comfortably ahead of his teammate. Dennis and his BMC squad continued to dominate the race, sticking Damiano Caruso in the day's breakaway and hammering the pack into position for the final two climbs of the day, over Hoosier Pass and Moonstone. This spoke of defending Bookwalter's slim lead, which was attacked by various characters including Hincapie Racing Team's Rob Squire, who sits third overall after shattering most of the non-BMC field on the Moonstone climb. But Dennis has been the strongest rider all week, shepherding Bookwalter into position to hold the lead following his stage 2 win in nearby Arapahoe Basin. Now Dennis gets to cash in his excellent form for his own spoils. Tomorrow's time trial comes back over the same final climb, but after a long flat out-and-back stretch on Highway 9, which should benefit the former Hour Record holder more than anyone else in attendance. The race is now officially Dennis's to lose, and the only difference after today is that the standings make that point clear.


  1. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team
  2. Brent Bookwalter (USA) BMC Racing Team, at 0:19
  3. Rob Squire (USA) Hincapie Racing Team, s.t.
  4. Jonathan Clarke (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling, at 0:23
  5. Bruno Pires (Por) Tinkoff-Saxo, s.t.
  6. Gavin Mannion (USA) Jelly Belly, s.t.
  7. Toms Skujins (Lat) Hincapie Racing Team, s.t.
  8. Dion Smith (NZl) Hincapie Racing Team, s.t.
  9. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Axeon Cycling, s.t.
  10. Lachlan Morton (Aus) Jelly Belly, s.t.


  1. Dennis
  2. Bookwalter, at 0:13
  3. Squire, at 0:26
  4. Clarke, at 0:27
  5. Hugh Carthy (GBr) Caja Rural-Seguros, s.t.
  6. Morton, at 0:42
  7. Jaime Roson (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros, at 0:44
  8. Davide Formolo, Cannondale, at 0:48
  9. Julien Bernard (Fra) Trek Factory Racing, at 0:55
  10. Skujins, at 1:01


Aspen - Breckenridge 203 km

This thing did enough to sort out the good climbers (+Sagan) back in 2013.

Dr Quinn, Medicine woman of the Day:  Lachlan Morton
This pick was erroneously put in yesterday when I totally meant to pick that Reijnen guy. *This* is the stage that Morton wins.

Official siteStageinfoStartlist