clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tour: Champs Victory for Greipel; Froome Champion

Greipel managed his first sprint win of the Tour.

Le Tour de France 2016 - Stage Twenty One Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images

The stage on the Champs-Élysées was again fairly formulaic, with a few kilometres of photo-ops and champagne drinking, before the racing on the Champs began. It was a torrid day for Etixx-Quickstep, with Tony Martin abandoning due to knee pain, and Marcel Kittel getting a mechanical on the circuit, spending rather too long behind a team car, and rather not long enough behind his team. They also had a scare with Dan Martin, who also had a problem, but got into the peloton in time to preserve his GC place.

The sprint was the main attraction of the day, and it was lead out in the early stages by Direct Energie, catching breakaways from Teklehaimanot, Poels, Rowe, Van Avermaet, Lutsenko, and numerous others. However, they also had a bad day, with Coquard puncturing in the final kilometres. That left it down to Greipel, Kristoff and Sagan to sprint it out, with Kristoff going too early and faltering, Sagan going too late and not getting there on time, and Greipel timing it perfectly for the first time all Tour, to win his first stage since this time last year

Stage Results:
1. GER André Greipel LTS 2:43:08
2. SVK Peter Sagan TNK "
3. NOR Alexander Kristoff KAT "
4. NOR Edvald Boasson Hagen DDD "
5. AUS Michael Matthews OBE "
6. BEL Jasper Stuyven TFS "
7. LIT Ramunas Navardauskas CDT "
8. FRA Christophe Laporte COF "
9. IRE Sam Bennett BOA "
10. RSA Reinhardt Janse Van Rensburg DDD "
General Classification:
1. GBR Chris Froome SKY 89:04:48
2. FRA Romain Bardet ALM 4:05
3. COL Nairo Quintana MOV 4:21
4. GBR Adam Yates OBE 4:42
5. AUS Richie Porte BMC 5:17
6. ESP Alejandro Valverde MOV 6:16
7. ESP Joaquím Rodríguez KAT 6:58
8. RSA Louis Meintjes LAM "
9. IRE Daniel Martin EQS 7:04
10. CZE Roman Kreuziger TNK 7:11
Points Classification:
1. SVK Peter Sagan TNK 470
2. GER Marcel Kittel EQS 228
3. AUS Michael Matthews OBE 199
Mountains Classification:
1. POL Rafal Majka TNK 209
2. BEL Thomas De Gendt LTS 130
3. COL Jarlinson Pantano IAM 121
Youth Classification:
1. GBR Adam Yates OBE 89:09:30
2. RSA Louis Meintjes LAM 2:16
3. GER Emanuel Buchmann BOA 42:58
Combativity Prize:
1. SVK Peter Sagan TNK All-Round Brilliant Attacking