clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brave Performance Takes San Sebastian for Mollema

After an unlucky but skilled performance at the Tour de France, Bauke Mollema bounced back in style today, jumping clear just at the top of the final climb to come home with the victory. Tony Gallopin and Alejandro Valverde sprinted in behind him, the winners of two and three years ago. It was Valverde's Movistar team that set the pace early on, but he didn't take the initiative on the Murgil Bidea, with Simon Yates and Joaquím Rodríguez looking aggressive. Rodríguez was the strongest on the climb, but just didn't have enough to forge clear. He got recaptured immediately. Mollema attacked, stormed down the descent and held off the less than concerted chase from Gallopin and Valverde to take the win. Greg Van Avermaet, Simon Yates and Nicolas Roche, along with a few others, came in with another group to fill out the top ten.

1 111 MOLLEMA, Bauke TFS 05h 31' 00"
2 141 GALLOPIN, Tony LTS 05h 31' 17" +17"
3 21 VALVERDE, Alejandro MOV 05h 31' 17" +17"
4 61 RODRIGUEZ, Joaquim KAT 05h 31' 22" +22"
5 37 VAN AVERMAET, Greg BMC 05h 31' 34" +34"
6 53 BRAMBILLA, Gianluca EQS 05h 31' 34" +34"
7 8 YATES, Simon OBE 05h 31' 34" +34"
8 136 SLAGTER, Tom Jelte CDT 05h 31' 34" +34"
9 48 ROCHE, Nicolas SKY 05h 31' 34" +34"
10 162 DEVENYNS, Dries IAM 05h 31' 37" +37"


Donostia - Donostia 220.2 km

Why do they call it "San Sebastian" when it starts and finishes in Donostia? The Basques must not be very clever.

Check our full preview of who is going to win and why here.

Txirla's Hero : Dan Martin

Not sure why we do previews when Conor was quite obviously drunk like an Irishman when he picked X-XXX for the win. He was probably worried about jinxing him but I have no such powers so I can say assuredly that Dan Martin will get a payoff for his fine TdF form here. The hipster outsider pick is Davide Formolo.

Official siteRaceinfo,  Startlist