clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tour de France Stage 13: Pedersen Finishes It Off in St-Etienne

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

109th Tour de France 2022 - Stage 13 Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images

Mads Pedersen got himself and his Trek-Segafredo squad into the victory column today at the 2022 Tour de France with an aggressive ride to St-Etienne that ended in a dominant sprint win on the race’s 13th stage. Pedersen, who was also awarded the combativity prize on the day, split the final group into a three-man break with Hugo Houle of Israel Premier Tech and Fred Wright of Bahrain Victorious, and easily fended off a few challenges from the pair before thundering home to victory.

The 2022 Tour has suddenly become a Danish Delight, with three different riders from the nation taking stage wins in the last four days — Magnus Cort Nielsen on stage 10 and Jonas Vingegaard, the current maillot jaune, on stage 11. Pedersen, the former World Champion, has been looking for an opportunity to add a Tour stage to his impressive legacy and wasn’t to be denied today. After yesterday’s win by Tom Pidcock, this also marks two straight wins for riders from the Cobbled Classics category making their impression on the Tour.

No changes on GC as the bunch rolled home together.


  1. Mads Pedersen Trek-Segafredo, 04:13:03
  2. Fred Wright Bahrain Victorious+ 00
  3. Hugo Houle Israel-Premier Tech+ 00
  4. Stefan Küng Groupama-FDJ+ 30
  5. Matteo Jorgenson Movistar Team+ 30
  6. Filippo Ganna INEOS Grenadiers+ 32
  7. Wout van Aert Jumbo-Visma+ 05:45
  8. Florian Sénéchal Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team+ 05:45
  9. Luca Mozzato B&B Hotels-KTM+ 05:45
  10. Andrea Pasqualon Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert+ 05:45
  11. Alberto Dainese Team DSM+ 05:45
  12. Tadej Pogacar UAE Team Emirates+ 05:45
  13. Marco Haller BORA-hansgrohe+ 05:45
  14. Alexander Kristoff Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert+ 05:45
  15. Amaury Capiot Team Arkéa-Samsic+ 05:45
  16. Tiesj Benoot Jumbo-Visma+ 05:45
  17. Guillaume Boivin Israel-Premier Tech+ 05:45
  18. Edvald Boasson-Hagen TotalEnergies+ 05:45
  19. Jonas Vingegaard Jumbo-Visma+ 05:45
  20. Christophe Laporte Jumbo-Visma+ 05:45

Le Bourg d’Oisans - St Étienne 192.6 km

Sprint or breakaway I suppose is the main question. I seem to recall sprint teams very reluctant to count this as a sprint opportunity before the race but who knows.

Expected finish: 17:25 - 17:50 CEST

A little bit of both of the Day : Peter Sagan

Covering my bases with a guy who could win in both scenarios. The way he looked in Denmark I’d be a little surprised if he walked away from this Tour emptyhanded.

Official site , Startlist