clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nine Cycling Books On BSB Awards Shortlists

It's book awards season, already and a total of fifty-six books across eleven categories have been nominated for the 2015 British Sports Book Awards, sponsored by Cross. Nine of those books come from cycling writers. New this year to the BSB Awards is a category for cycling books, which joins football, cricket, rugby and horse racing in getting an award to itself, a fair reflection of the volume and quality of cycling books being published today.

Justin Sullivan/Getty Images

The post-Olympics and post-USADA euphoria saw eight cycling books nominated in 2013 (Seven Deadly Sins, by David Walsh; My Time, by Bradley Wiggins, Merckx - Half Man, Half Bike, by William Fotheringham; Coppi, by Herbie Sykes; 21 Days to Glory, by Team Sky and Dave Brailsford; Between the Lines, by Victoria Pendleton; and The Secret Race, by Tyler Hamilton) but 2014 saw only four books nominated (The Pain and the Glory, by Team Sky and Chris Froome; The Race Against Time, by Edward Pickering; Land of Second Chances, by Tim Lewis; and On The Road Bike, by Ned Boulting). This year - 2015 - we've got four cycling books nominated in the general categories, along with another five nominated in the new cycling category. Those nine books are:

British Sports Book Awards

Autobiography of the Year
The Climb, by Chris Froome
The Breakaway, by Nicole Cooke

Biography of the Year
Shadows on the Road, by Michael Barry

Outstanding General Writing Award
The Race Against the Stasi, by Herbie Sykes

Cycling Book of the Year
101 Damnations, by Ned Boulting
Climbs and Punishment, by Felix Lowe
Gironimo!, by Tim Moore
Great British Cycling, by Ellis Bacon
The Race Against the Stasi, by Herbie Sykes
Étape, by Richard Moore

Publicity Campaign of the Year
The Climb, by Chris Froome

British Sports Book Awards

Winners will be announced on June 3 with a one-hour highlights show of the awards ceremony going out on SkySports on June 7.

Trivia fans might be interested to know that, of the nine cycling books, five have been published by Random House imprints while Simon & Schuster and Faber - two of the other major UK publishers - have one each, as do Faber and Quarto. No truly small, independent publisher got a look in.

While some of the BSB Awards nominees really were among the best cycling books published in 2014, some most definitely were not. If you want my take on the best cycling books of 2014, you'll find it on Peloton.

Among the previous winners, the following cycling books picked up prizes:

British Sports Book Awards

2014: Land of Second Chances, by Tim Lewis (Best New Writer)
2013: Seven Deadly Sins, by David Walsh (Best Autobiography/Biography)
2013: 21 Days to Glory, by Team Sky and Dave Brailsford (Best Illustrated Book)
2011: It's All About the Bike, by Robert Penn (Best Publicity Campaign)
2010: The Man Who Cycled the World, by Mark Beaumont (Best Publicity Campaign)
2008: In Search of Robert Millar, by Richard Moore (Best Biography)
2007: The Hour, by Michael Hutchinson (Best New Writer)
2007: The Death of Marco Pantani, by Matt Rendell (Best Biography)
2006: Lance Armstrong - Tour de Force, by Dan Coyle (Best Biography)
2003: Kings of the Mountains, by Matt Rendell (Best New Writer)

British Sports Book Awards